New Dawn

Despite a very late night, I woke before the sunrise, and was able to get to our beach as the sun emerged from behind the Scandrett farm peninsula. This Saturday sunrise on the first morning after the end of a ten month locum represents a new dawn. 

After the sunrise, I ran towards the point separating our beach from Snells Beach. The extra is of a kotare (kingfisher) on some rocks below the point. The kotare was calling out while I took some photos, and then flew up into a tree near the top of the cliff. I managed two photos before it launched itself at me and at such speed with a kamikaze cry hat I had to duck. Its attack worked, as I left.

Today we made the beach house available for the first birthday celebration for S' nephew's little girl. Lots of family interaction. This evening we will have a quiet time waiting for the New Year's fireworks which have become traditional here.

Happy New Year to all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.