End the year with a smile.

It is a very grey day and I found nothing to blip on my walk. So perhaps I will try to use the eccentricity of the English language to raise a final smile for 2016.

Here is your New Years Eve Quiz.

Is this book:

1. A previously unpublished novel by P.G.Wodehouse.
2. A critical analysis of the more disreputable parts of the British newspaper industry.
3. A famous and serious volume in the well known New Naturalist series.

It is, of course, number 3.
I don't approve of Trump style locker room talk and have never taken part in it.

But I do find much amusement in the double and often triple meanings of words in the English language.

And I would have enjoyed being at the meeting between the author and the publisher when the title for this book was decided.

And a very enjoyable NewYear to all my delightful and erudite blipping friends.


Sent from my iPad Air

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.