Leiflife

By Leiflife

Pelican Days

Most of my pleasure over the last few weeks has come from my walks and my visits with the pelicans. Between the distractions and compulsions of the holiday season, I have stolen moments to free my body and mind of the usual stresses. The wintering pelicans that tolerate this woman's fascination with their beauty and the simple behavior of their daily lives are much appreciated. My camera loves them. I love them. I receive love back. Perhaps because I trust and believe in the communion experienced in their presence. My heart follows and yearns as one swims away from me, then swells in delight as she drifts back to just below the pier that I stand on. The teasing dance is something I understand and respond to. I laugh out loud as I have to back up and refocus to fit her whole body in the viewfinder. My soul is as full as the lens with pelican love. 

Some of the pelicans seem to live on the small circumference of the harbor posts. There balance is pretty amazing. As active as they can become between lengthy naps, I have never seen one fall. The one above has been grooming itself for some time, but has paused for a thorough scratch. Almost dog-like in her focused attention, she reminds me of my Music dog. I can almost hear the scratching and thumping against the floor, no longer a part of my present life. 

Dear Music... Just a bit lonely for doggie energy of late. Just a bit tempted to fill up the lack with an unknown companion...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.