New Year's Day

What better way to usher in the New Year than with a brace of two year-old grandchildren?  We all had a delicious brunch this morning at the restaurant across the street from our apartment, and then we came back to our place and played with toys.  I suppose I shouldn't have been surprised that by far the most popular were the dog toys stowed in a basket in our living room!  (The pink pig sniffing Elliott's boot in the top picture is BB's most favourite toy in the whole wide world.)  Nora has perfected the art of the aggrieved pout as you can see in the photo lower right -- she was not about to let Elliott get his mitts on that pink piggie!  Elliott made a fine drummer boy, and gosh doesn't he look like a real boy now -- no longer a toddler all of a sudden!

I am in considerable pain today.  All my own doing.  I really need to learn to act my age.  Yesterday evening, Nora was performing somersaults on the living room rug, and then she asked me to do one.  So I did.  And I think I broke a rib in the process.  It hurts to breathe in.  It hurts to cough.  It hurts to laugh.  It really, really hurts to be hugged (which is very sad indeed.)  Nothing to be done about it ... it will heal on its own eventually!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.