1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Hello gorgeous!

Another ferret blip! Well, I don't get to see them often so make the most of them while I can. Also, don't feel like taking photos at the farm and it's too mad at work this week as there's a music festival on in the village ( hence I'm working everyday , otherwise I'd be at the farm ).

Went over to see Lou again yesterday. She looks better now. James had already gone to bed when I made to leave, so Lou came to unlock the gate for me. As we were saying our goodbyes I glanced at the pregnant heifers in the lovely new maternity ward James had made them and saw one beginning to calve.

As she was rather small we decided to keep an eye on her, so I turned the car engine off and we went back into the caravan for a few minutes. Checked later and she was doing well. Probably took about 45 mins for her to give birth - I've never seen a more surprised cow! When she tentatively made her way back to the slimey mess she'd left behind as we went in to check all was ok with him ( it's a boy! ) she initially stood as far away from him as her neck would allow!

" Like, seriously, this is mine?!!! Really?!!!!! "

Anyway, within seconds she was fussing about him, being a fantastic mum, cleaning him, talking to him, letting the other heifers know that he was hers .... Beautiful end to the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.