Polar Bear Dip

I started the year as I meant to go on - I woke up, donned my swimsuit and went into the Forth (aka, the North Sea). To quote Joni Mitchell, I felt unfettered and alive!

I nearly didn't do it. I looked at my very comfortable bed and wondered what was the point in going outside, barely light, and wading into freezing cold water? The air temperature was 2 degrees. But then modern technology got in the way. I checked FB and it showed my posts from previous years and I saw that the last time I did a polar bear dip was 2012 - and I loved it. So that sealed it. And I'm so glad I did it. The extra is of a young woman doing it just after noon (with a balmy temperature of 4 degrees) with the big crowd of people that have started to gather in the last few years to do Portobello's own loony dook. 

I then did some bits and pieces around the house, caught up a little on blip and then walked into town (see second extra in the park) to go to the Filmhouse to see Annie Hall, only to get there to find out that it was sold out. I didn't even think of booking in advance because I thought everyone would be at home, in their pyjamas watching telly or reading a book, like sensible people on New Year's Day. Turns out the town was full of folk. So I turned around and came back home, having achieved my polar bear swim and step count by 4 pm.

The rest of the day has flown, mostly with catching up with blip. I'm now off to bed, feeling a little brighter about this year, the year to say f*ck it and do it anyway.

Happy New Year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.