A concrete love affair

By PhotoIain

Towards the Isle of May

An unexpected trip to Dundee ( lets face it I'm always delighted to visit) heralded a further unexpected trip.. to Crail on Fife's East Neuk!

I just keep being drawn back here and now I know how magnificent the twilight view looking across the Firth of Forth is il no doubt be back yet again! 

What drew me this time is the knowledge that the towns Catholic Church 'Most Holy Trinity Church' contains an icon to 'Our Lady of Poland' painted by a Polish servicemen who served at the nearby ( long defunct) airbase during WWII. Unfortunately the church was closed so I couldn't view this most welcome connection to Poland..

But it didn't stop me marking a more personal connection to Poland that Crail cherishes. If you've been reading my blips of late you’ll know that my longtime partner Pam had a Polish Grandfather, Konrad, who found refuge in Scotland during WWII. (For clarity the Grandfather to which I referred to in yesterdays blip is on the other, Scottish, side) 

There is a much cherished photograph of Konrad standing in the picturesque harbourside as a very jovial looking old man which Ive seen many times and although I never met him, because of that photo I am always reminded of Konrad when visiting Crail. For this cherished memory and the churches icon the connection between Poland and Scotland is very strong and I'm deeply heartened to feel it here in Crail...

As if to confirm this connection I only realised later on, the name of the island with the lighthouse on it.. Coincidentally Konrad's wife was called May! 

Secure in this connection made to far off places, to the people of those places and the mementos they leave on far off shores I drove into the night towards Perth.. The coast road between Crail and St Andrews had the most remarkable view across the Firth of Tay towards Dundee, up the Angus coast and beyond.. An array of radio towers from The Law hill on the left and across to distant Durris on the right guided the way as the white lights of coastal settlements drew a line north toward the distant city lights of Aberdeen and the oil rigs illuminating the cloudy sky. 

An unexpectedly far off view after an unexpected day…  The red and white in the distance a most appropriate colour scheme to reflect on the distant connections we make and mementos they leave behind. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.