Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Diana

In Diana's words:

I have a tattoo on my left forearm, the “Bleak Cabal.” It comes from a digital role-playing game called Planescape: Torment. According to the game, people in the Bleak Cabal find no meaning or purpose in life. They have the option to choose a way of life that gives meaning to them, and they choose to ease suffering. Their work gives their lives meaning, and they do what they can for all those they meet. I feel as if I’m like that, myself. My work is to meet people and give them permission to feel whatever they’re feeling--I say, “It’s OK to be as you are; you’re not crazy. Give yourself time to feel the truth, let yourself speak your truth. I’m listening.” Many Trans people and houseless people are survivors of child abuse or sexual abuse. They know there are times when nobody comes to help, when nobody rescues them, when nobody saves them from terrible, indescribable suffering. I know that. I experienced that. So I want to be the person I needed. I want to be that person for someone else. Nobody pays you to do that kind of work in the world, but it’s the work I’m doing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.