Migrant in Moscow

By Migrant

The maturity to cope with it

This is a catch-up blip from my last day at the Moscow Book Fair (I am amazed to see that a month has passed by).  I had hoped to compose my impressions into something longer but the longer I have been distracted from this that harder that’s become.  Nonetheless, another inspiring day and once again most of the debate revolving around the status of political dialogue in British society.  Common themes being the superficiality of much of the debate and the growing cynicism towards politics in general (but generally qualified by the feeling that "we have the maturity to cope with this"). However, the point also being made over and over again (in the context of reading and writing books) that there will always be a role for the serious thinker (and writer and reader) in spite of the sound-byte/ tweet-driven world we live in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.