Floral Funchal

In our room we found a vase;
Down the road's a florist.
Now our room resounds with 'ahs' -
Enjoy our floral forest!


The florist was manned by an old woman who told me in broken English to cut the stems with a knife, not scissors, and that the flowers would last 3-4 weeks. Perfect! More rain alternating with sunshine today. Not red hot - but definitely frost-free, so we're not complaining!

I've booked a bird-watching tour for Thursday next week; the one I wanted was fully booked for this week. Amazingly, none of the staff in Funchal kiosks selling trips appeared to know of any bird-watching walks, but I found a number online, provided by a group that's won awards in Madeira for services to both ecology and tourism. I'm sure it will be good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.