Day to day today

By Jewels4663

George

Can't say much other than I'm absolutely devastated.  I was a big fan of George Michael's, and seen him live several times (including the Wham! Final), had everything he'd recorded, even met him a couple of times (he was lovely, of course).

I first saw Wham! on Top of the Pops in 1982, when they got drafted in as someone else had cancelled at the last minute, and instantly fell in love with the song (Young Guns (Go For It)) and with George.  I went to Bangor with my mum the next day and dragged her round every record shop I could find (there weren't many, it was Bangor!) trying to find it.  I even made her stop at Woolies in Barmouth on the way home, just in case - no joy!  Eventually got it, but it took a lot of searching!

I have loved him ever since, and still remember the opening dance sequence of the Final gig, which was a thing of beauty!  I am pretty damn sure that Sony did record that gig but for some reason have never released it.  I also remember the film playing behind him as he sang Praying for Time at the new Wembley Stadium - it is one of my favourite songs of his and was just beautiful.  

I've loved George through the Wham! years, the solo years, even the problem years.  I am three weeks older than George so perhaps there was that connection that we were the same age, the same generation.  Not really any other similarity, apart from that I loved music too.  I was excited to read that there may be some new music in 2017, just a couple of weeks ago, but now that won't happen.  So sad to think that that beautiful voice is no more.

I love you George Michael.  Rest in peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.