Annie and Chris

By AnnieAndChris

Delays and bad days

The flight back from Edinburgh should be getting ready to go now. Instead it's delayed and I'm (Annie) left to peruse the airport architecture and furnishings. My stupid fault for flying at the start of a bank holiday weekend, I'm sure.

On the plus side, a particularly troublesome week and bad day today has made us decide to fling caution to the wind, forget the house tidying and jobs planned, and head off for the weekend. I love a last minute plan and once my mind was made up it was dangerous as I'm currently at an airport in possession of my passport. After all, my former erratic life as an IT consultant once had me take a holiday to New Zealand on a day's whim, as there had been no break in assignments up to that last minute cancellation (what I didn't twig was the grilling I'd get at immigration, this being "unusual"!). My wanderlust knows only the boundaries of cheap last minute offers. Nothing as exotic this time - New Zealand's a bit far for 3 days even for me.

Happy birthday, Chris' mum! It's got a zero on the end... :)

No one gives you a manual on how to cope with many of life's challenges, do they? We could do with a refresher on how to handle stuff better at times. Chapter 1 - "Be good to yourself when you're feeling ground down" - tick!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.