Shouting at Christians

The sun almost came out this morning. So almost had a complete car free week of commuting too. Five days, nine cycles. Caved in on the the last one tonight though, and had the bike carried home on the bike rack after another post-work 'staff development' session. Nothing as raucous as last wee's and certainly no black pudding suppers being sprayed down the aisle of the number 63 First Bus.

Probably best too, after this morning's run.

It was all going well, even if stopping for five minutes and waiting for the milky sun to line up nicely here had me running behind schedule.

When the silver Skoda pulled out of the drive opposite and crossed over to block my path I stopped pedalling and assumed they spotted the big safety vested cyclist looming up in their rear mirror. I even gave them a cheery wave. A hundred yards along the road, with me still fixed to their bumper, they pulled up again and I almost slammed straight into the fishy symbol attached to their bumper. He then switched his indicator on to say he was going to do that. I shuffled around to the driver's side and scared the absolute bejesus (seemed appropriate) out of the wee man driving as I chapped the window. He rolled down the window and I let off a heavy breathing volley of "...didn't see me...", "...mirrors...", "...bit of respect.." abuse to which he profusely and repeatedly apologised. I stormed off with him still apologising. A few yards along, feeling pretty shitty about my over-the-top reaction, I realised I was probably a much less defensive motorist than a cyclist. Being on two wheels in amongst all those big, sharp, hard, metal, fast and inconsiderately driven vehicles must make you like that.

To the Christians today, and possibly in the future, I apologise for that.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.