Trisharooni

By trisharooni

No Longer De Losa's

This is the doner kebab shop which has just opened.
When I drove past today this couple was inside eating.
I liked the way her hair matched the tiles, so drove round the block and parked opposite.
Too late.  They were just leaving.
Some of you will know that I document the businesses in town, usually when they open.
A shot of the shop, and one of the new owner.

Over five years ago this shop, which had been in the same family for seventy five years, closed down.

For the next five years it was a fifties milk bar/cafe.
It was filled with what seemed like a lifetime collection of memorabilia.
You know the sort, juke boxes, orange vinyl couches and somebody's dreams.
After a couple of years it became very sad.  Dusty and neglected.
It just never took off.  

Anyway, the people have spoken.
This joint is going gangbusters.

I'd been in Penrith today for some boring medical tests.
My veins were hiding again, and the nurse went from one arm to the other with no success.
Finally they brought in the big guns, a lovely gentle woman, someone they save for difficult people like me.
I knew at once she'd do the job, and I was right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.