faeriejaqi

By faeriejaqi

Frosting

Here's the cake to go with the sugar skull from yesterday. I haven't put them together yet because this cake is chilling in the fridge, and fondant doesn't do too well in the fridge so I'll do the final assemble in the morning before I head out.

This cake was a new adventure in baking. I've baked 100s of cakes now, but never one using the oven function on our microwave. Two days ago our gas supply was disconnected because of some sort of issue with the pressure and the pipeline. One dug up pavement later, and still no gas for us. This sucks because we cook with gas. We're getting on fine with the microwave oven and our camping stove, but I was apprehensive about baking a cake, even though I knew the microwave can act as an oven.

It worked beautifully. I might go as far as to say that it cooked the cake better than the oven does, but I haven't tasted it yet! I'll let you know.

Hopefully my cousin will like it :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.