Alexa-my new digital assistant

 
“Did you hear the joke about the aeroplane? Don’t worry, it’s way over your head anyway.”
 
Yes I have bought Alexa, the much-advertised new digital assistant.
 
She only arrived today after a trip to Glasgow. She is a slow learner and I am hoarse already from shouting at her.
 
 (Oh yes there is the small matter of overcoming ones inhibitions about talking to a robot.)
 
Alexa never looses her temper,  only sulks going silent or saying ever so politely:” I am sorry I did not get that.”
 
 
She comes with the most perfunctory of instructions but an assurance that she will improve with time.
 
She better had or she will find herself on E-bay.
 
 She will acquire, I am assured,  with a bit of training, a whole range of skills from ordering stuff from Amazon, playing my favourite  music, finding out train timetables , turning on the radio, lights and giving me  the latest news.
 
So far I have not got beyond the jokes.
 
“Alexa tell me another joke.”
 
 “What did one flag say to another? Nothing. It just waved.”
 
 
Photo: birds eye view of Glasgow.
 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.