CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Meeting on the banks of the River Severn

I couldn't resist the sunshine and the still air today, so I ventured on a detour from my shopping trip to Gloucester. I stopped by a bridge over the Sharpness canal to photograph several old oak trees in a field, with stag heads. these are the remnants of the highest branches which have lost all their life although the tree has healthy lower branches.

Then I wandered past Epney and parked near a lane which leads to the north bank of the River Severn. As I hoped the stillness was so pleasing. Birds gathered on the sandbanks of the river which was at low tide and rushes and the colours of the rushes and trees beamed in the sunshine.

This gentleman walked along the bank towards me and we had a chat for about thirty minutes.  I have met him before and he's told me of his days as a seaman as well as being one of the last licensed salmon fishermen using nets on this stretch of the river. He fears he i=will be the last as there is no-one following in his footsteps. He also told me of seeing a very large turtle which had washed up here many years ago as well as the body of a seven foot long tuna which was washed in on the tide last year. He says there are huge numbers of salmon in the river nowadays which proves that conservation methods are working.

He told me all his dogs have different backgrounds. I liked the way he treats them as dogs, allowed to run and dive into the river and play with each other. I wish I had taken a picture of him as he approached me but I still like this image of him heading on up the river, as he does everyday, rain or shine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.