Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

Lots of camera and lens boxes...

A friend of mine had a Nikon D5500 for Christmas and because it has a touchscreen and a viewfinder I have had camera envy since I read the spec. And when I saw that there is a choice of black or red I was hooked!

Another friend has just ordered some gear from Wex Photographics and for some reason I looked at their website and just out of curiosity asked for a quote to part exchange my full frame Nikon which I now find too heavy. They offered such a good price that I followed up with a quote for my Panasonic and then three lenses. The price offered is enough for me to get a red Nikon D5500 and a set of Lensbaby which I also hankered after.

It just shows that keeping all these original boxes and moving them from UK to Guernsey to Alderney to Guernsey paid off because the quote would have been a lot less without them. The downside is that I have to get everything over to the mainland with me next week. I don't want the cameras in my suitcase so have put one of the lenses on each camera and it will go in my hand luggage but I still have to get the boxes over. They fitted in my suitcase but I can't really go on holiday for a fortnight without any clothes so this morning I had to buy a bigger case. I would have needed to anyway because I'm going off for a month later this year.

I've hooked out all the receipts for the gear bought while I was in UK and I'll only have to pay VAT on 2 items. When I get over there I'll have to take the lenses off again and pack everything into 2 parcels and take them to a Post Office. Postage and insurance is included in the quote. By the time I get back home I should be able to order my new gear and will have time to get really familiar with it before my photography course on the Isle of Wight.

All this excitement meant I forgot to take a photograph when I was out this morning so an emergency blip of the new case and all the boxes... and lurking in the background are my blue crutches. I really must get rid of them which will make room for even more boots and shoes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.