Today's Memories

By Pxas

Tuesday

Our Pumbaa gave us a scare on New Year's Eve.  She fell ill suddenly.  When I gave her a quick wash, I noticed she was bleeding below her chin.  I wrapped her up in a towel to dry her.  She was week and didn't move.  My eyes teared up and I thought this is it.  I am loosing her.  She's 19 years old and perhaps this was her final hour.  The girls didn't know anything about it.  They were getting ready for the evening.  

I let her go after a while and she got up and went straight to the water and food.  She was weak on her legs, but still a good sign.  We decided to let her be.  She slept through the New Year's Eve.  She seemed to be better the next day and since the Vet was closed, we decided to call them first thing Monday morning.

Monday morning we found out that below her chin she had two holes.  As if she was cut!!!!!!!!!  I was shocked!  She's an indoor cat.  How could that happen?  We were clueless and so was the vet.  She had to have stitches done surgically.  Light anaesthetic as she's very old.

Today we picked her up.  She has to wear the collar for the next 10 days until the stitches are off.  I can see she hates it.  Need to give her antibiotics in am and pm and hope for the best.  The vet did not find anything unusual when she stitched her.  Her blood results came back fine too.  We are all a bit shocked.  But let's hope that she'll be getting better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.