I realised...

...I should have some pre-cut small pieces of paper for those days when I only have 15 to 20 minutes to do a picture.

I did a full A4 sheet this morning and it was too big for the time I had available today. I only had 20 minutes to do this picture and I am not happy with it, for several reasons.

For some reason the sky on the right side started to go muddy. I hadn't overworked it. I wanted the sky darker, but the purple over the pinky colour started to go messy and muddy.

I think this picture would have worked if I had done some watercolour washes, let it dry and then done pastel on the top. Or, if I had done it half the size and made it more an impression of the scene, it might have worked better.

This is not from a real scene, but it occurred to me that if I used recognisable river skylines then that might add something to the picture...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.