Smileys

Beauty. 

Today I took a photographic tour of the townships.  I had a guide all to myself.  I learned so much about the townships primarily, but also about photography.  I am showing you three of my favourite photos, but I have a few goodies.  

Smileys are not for the squeamish. Sheeps' heads, after undergoing a rigorous de-hairing process over extreme heat, then boiled to cook.  I have some great photos but will save those for later.  One of my extras is of one woman preparing the smileys.  

The second extra is just some happy kids.  

This beauty above is my favourite - he was selling maize beer that he had made in the shebeen.

So it's not all bad in the townships, there is plenty of bad, but there is also plenty of good, and plenty of beauty. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.