Am I bothered?

Since my laptop was telling me once again that I was dangerously low on my disc space I decided to clear space on my 2 external hard drives - in the process one crashed and is now empty! I know I have lost photographs and powerpoints I spent hundreds of hours making when I was teaching. But everything else I have lost I have no idea what it was - so I can't mourn the loss. I may have  alot on the third external hard drive, which has to be shaken to connect, which is why I bought the other two! But I can't be bothered to  find the lead to connect it and really I find i just don't care! At least I have saved myself time in sorting out what to keep and what to delete!
It has made me ponder over the role of photographs - they jog the memory of  times which otherwise may not be invoked. These memories may cause happiness or sadness in their remembrance. I have photos of my parents and grandparents in frames, do I need all the others locked in a drive never looked at until I want to make space for more photos? Old photos of people no longer in my life - separated by  years and often location from when I shared my life with them? They made their mark at the time - added to the person I now am - do I need any other remembrance? What about all my Flickr albums - those are the ones I selected from any given day,they exist there, do they need to exist anywhere else? I have my blips which act as a reminder for the events of any given day since I started - I have looked back over those. I also get called to "Remember" from photos placed on Facebook and in a google account - they sometimes please or surprise with past memories that would otherwise not have been brought to mind. But do I need or want them? 
I left my musings to go and discuss my hairdressers sex life as he cut all my hair off - I don't think I now have much left from 2016 and soon even that will be cut off! I stopped on the way home to pick up a parcel - the post office lady told me I nearly didn't get it - they wanted the contents! It was  a present from the very dear laurie54! - I was asked to tell them what the contents tasted like!
Home via Friends as the daughters had gone to Bristol so I was on Milkshake duty again. Milkshake came running down and even purred as I held her - as she ate her food I looked round the oh so familiar room. It felt empty - but as it always had when I was there to feed the cat when she was away. I felt quite numb to the fact she would not be returning this time. I looked at this photo on the paper frame I once gave her. Her and I celebrating the centenary of the viaduct in our Edwardian styled clothes.  A reminder of a happy time. 
Home to let Milly and tilly out to poop in my conservatory, up to the allotment to discover it looked no different to when I left it wednesday morning - as in an empty mash bowl and empty watering cans still by the tap where I had left them. I suspect that same coop member did not close or open them as she should have done - her days are numbered! Home to open my present.
Oh my! A huge box of pecan nuts and a jar of Cactus marmalade - what a tasting delight I had! Plus lauries photographs in a local magazine to look at! I was just so overwhelmed at her thought and generosity, not to mention the postage cost! 
In the evening I tackled my blanket again and I think I have cracked it! I then found the scarf I am also knitting and did a few rows on that too! So I now have 2 blankets and a scarf on the go! I intend to knit a square a day for the rest of the year - it's going to be a big blanket - maybe two!

So what have I learnt from the day? It's more important than the past? Live in the now? Remember those who matter and celebrate they were there, are here now? Let things go? I honestly don't know. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.