The Sarangi Player

Wasn't feeling too bright today but was cheered when several people said I looked like Dame Judy Dench with my new haircut!  Didn't stray far from the lodge but popped into the Cultural Center for a view of the semi precious gem stone and mirror mosaics and a rooftop view of the Old Palace which is now a museum. Then onto Gangaur Ghat where this chap was playing.  On the way home I was waylaid by a girl wanting to practice her English.  She is just about to take her final exams and go to college next year so she invited me into their 2 roomed home - 2 small double beds for parents, her and her brother in the first room, kitchen in the second with a latrine/shower room off a small terrace. In the end I spent 2 hours there for they all spoke good English and the father sang me folk songs interspersed with translation and the daughter sang too (apparently a first in front of her father).  Their caste rules forbid singing and dancing except within the caste family - pity for they were both terrific. The mother was so pretty I asked to take a photo for she had just washed her hair but was refused at first.  You rarely see any woman's hair here so it was a great privilege to be allowed to take some pictures - I had to promise only to show one to people I trust. So here it is

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.