fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Snow Flowers

I listened to the farewell speech of Michelle Obama who spoke at the Counselor of the Year awards today at the White House and it was another wonderfully warm and uplifting message to our country's youth moving me, once again, to tears.  So I celebrate Flower Friday with this artsy rendition of a frosty flake to symbolize the uniqueness of EVERY young person. Thank you  Biker Bear for hosting Flower Friday again!
    An except from her lovely heartwarming speech:

    She told the audience: “As I end my time in the White House, I can think of no better message to send to young people, in my last official remarks as first lady, for all the young people in this room and those who are watching, know that this country belongs to you, to all of you.
“From every background and walk of life, if you or your parents are immigrants, know that you are part of a proud American tradition, the infusion of new cultures, talents and ideas, generation after generation, and that has made us the greatest country on Earth.”
    I know our nation will miss the leadership of Michelle Obama as they will Barack Obama....both compassionate, bright and caring individuals.   While I celebrated her words, I also mourn the loss I feel as both these leaders "exit" and we head on to the tweets and all for show and power and greed of the Trumps entourage.  May we all survive their seemingly narcissistic and monolithic agenda.
    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.