One River, 2017

So far, one of my vague resolutions is going well - to walk as much as possible. After yesterday's day in, I decided, despite the gloom, to do a walk along the River (the Don, that is). Mr PB dropped me off  at the Supermarket, where he does our weekly shop, and and I walked along a road by the river through quite an industrial area at first, which then becomes a footpath though woodland. After about 3 miles, I reach a spot where I can catch a bus back up the hill to our village. There were quite a few fungi in the woodland, including Stump Puffballs, Scarlet Elfcups, and most reliably, Olive Oysterlings, but perhaps most interestingly, a Cup Fungus (Peziza) growing out of a black bin bag containing the remains of a cannabis plant (extra), where the remains of a cannabis farm had been dumped (a common practice along this section of the river). There were quite a few birds about too. I saw a flock of Long-tailed Tits, and a small group of Goldcrests, There were Dippers and an array of assorted Tits, Wrens and Robins. Seeing a Heron is not so unusual here, but it's been a while since I blipped one, and as this scrawny individual posed nicely in the poor light, it was today's pick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.