The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Ashmeadow glow

I know I have blipped this scene from Arnside Pier numerous times before.  But this from yesterday is the first time in 2017, and today has been a grey colourless day and the weekend ahead looks like being the same.  The sun was setting behind Ashmeadow as I arrived back in Arnside after work.  This was the peak point when the sky was most flushed with yellow/orange light.  The tide was quietly but quickly rising with hardly a ruffle of the water, and the arcing mudflat was submerged within minutes of this being shot.

I'm back blipping as part of my current approach of concentrating blipping activity on weekends, while conserving my energy reserves for work and other priorities during the week.  I'm getting plenty of sleep without the temptation to get up early these dark mornings.  And it's working, I'm feeling a lot better and more rested for it.

That said, yesterday morning as I stumbled about in the dark woods with Gus, I did twist my foot and fall over a mile from home on the Knott.  As I sat nursing my foot, wondering how badly it was damaged, Gus came and nestled in close against me, as empathetic as any human companion would be.  

Anyway, the damage wasn't too bad and I made it home with a bit of a limp and a very large bruise.  

Thank you to Bibba from Germany who silently gave me three hearts and stars, yet has no journal entries to say thank you on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.