The end of Christmas

It does rather depend on when you start counting, but this is the 11th day of Christmas and tomorrow well be 12th night.

I think we are amongst the last in our street to take down the Christmas decorations, but we were certainly among the last to put them up too!

I took down the door decorations too. I overheard a few kids pondering why we had a number 20 and a kangaroo on our door. I think my neighbours have just added it to growing list of the reasons why the family at number 60 are a bit odd.

But dear reader, it's completely obvious when you know that we arrived in Australia on Boxing Day 1996. So what was planned to be a we celebration, but became a "me", - was a celebration of living and loving living here for 20 years.

And yet, my slightly polite Aberdeen accent, still marks me as someone foreign who may have arrived just last week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.