Blue sky not needed

Yesterday back blipped for Philosophy Friday

Waking to another grey day of fog in the woods I decided enough was enough, I'd rather get IntotheHills. With another session planned in Langdale next week it seemed like a good idea to go and check conditions - this winter has been odd so far to say the least, temperatures this week have ranged from -8°C to +13°C.
Driving in there was the odd break in the fog, and I could see that the sky was blanketed in cloud. Arriving at Langdale I had a sense that the valley fog could be out climbed, and sure enough around the 400m contour on Tarn Crag that started to be the case. Sadly cloudbase was around 750m so it was an odd day.
I checked some navigation features I want to use next week, all the recent hydro work has made even the latest mapping a little wrong in places, it should provide a good challenge for the course participants.

Then I headed over to Stickle Tarn playing around on the little outcrops as I went. It was nice to be out of the fog and grey, the valleys looked pretty shrouded in their wispy veils, but there was no hint at what was to come.
Cresting my favourite rocky little T contour at 500m I just stopped and stared. I couldn't count the times I've been here, well north of a hundred, and yet this place I'd claim to know oh so well - simply took my breath away.
Today's blip really doesn't do it justice, but I'm quite pleased with it all the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.