Waxwing

Having been given the heads up there were waxwings in Gloucestershire I knew it wasn't going to be long before I headed out to try and track some down.

 Keeping my ear to the ground on the  birding sites it was a question of driving round to see if they were still in the vicinity. I really struck lucky with a small flock of 9 in town on the top of a rowan tree occasionally eating what was left of the berries. They can eat frostbitten and semi-fermented berries, which can make them drunk and incapable of flying so as a result they have developed highly efficient livers, better than ours, to help them recover quickly!

I was not on my own on the roadside verge shooting over the traffic. It was 3 years ago when the birds were here last and being so beautiful and rare they always attract lots of attention. Such a pity the light was incredibly dull.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.