Return to the North

By Viking

Squirreling away

Despite the rather dreary looking weather sis and I headed out for a walk today. We both got on the scales post Christmas and decided we need to act! So as a way of getting some exercise while enjoying ourselves we took our cameras to Normanby Park for much of the afternoon.
As we drove in the carpark we spotted a kestrel sat on the telephone wires but the light was so rubbish that my shots are pants. As we walked out of the carpark into the grounds there was a lovely nuthatch on the bird feeder but he would only show me his bum! 
Thankfully on the walk itself there was lots of squirrels, robins and tits to photograph. Also couldn't get a shot in of a jay which was following in front of us but well 'hidden' by branches. 
I've chosen the squirrel because it is in the archetypal squirrel pose but other shots can be seen here (including some lovely pheasant plumage )

After doing one circuit sis went for a cuppa in the cafe (her knees are well buggered) and I headed off for a second circuit in order to get my 10,000 steps in! I managed to get to 8500 but then finished it off with a long circuit of Tescos (and The Range for bird food)
We finally shuffled our way to my cousin's house where i was treated to a make over by L's new make up sets she got for Xmas (L is 5 so you can imagine what my face ended up like) those of you who have me on Facebook will see the beautiful shots! I did suggest I go to the pub next door but one to their house to see if I could 'pull' but the general consensus was that I would empty the pub quicker than the Mormons :-) 
Now we're both almost comatose from a day of activity :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.