tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Surrender the pink

Two images from today qualify for the recently-deceased Carrie Fisher's  risqué  book title.
(Her ashes have been laid to rest today in prozac-shaped urn.)

As I walked into town on a murky but ridiculously mild morning my eyes and nose were captured by this lovely flowering shrub. I'm pretty sure it's Viburnum x bodnantense, a fragrant variety originally bred at the renowned North Wales garden of Bodnant Hall, an  old-established horticultural mecca which I regret to say I have never visited.

Later I noticed in my own garden the sorry remains of a blackbird  that seems to have been devoured by an airborne raptor (probably a buzzard or a red kite) leaving just a skeletal fragment, wings spread in a final gesture of surrender.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.