Skate Sharpening

I was down at the park taking pics and spotted an old man sharpening skates.

It was fascinating to watch him.. I have no idea how skates are sharpened in other places but his method seemed very 'traditional/old'. First put the skates in two vices and locked them in. Then he picked up a large sheet of glass and put it on top of the blades. I think that was to make sure everthing was level. The he used this large sharpening stone to make the edged nice and clean. It was very interesting. There was a line up of pold guys waiting for their turn.

Note to mods.. In my haste to get out and play with my new camera, I set the time at 1:30am not pm but the picture was taken today. If you are interested, you can look at the data below if you want to know what camera it is.

EDIT. I took Jim's advice and took out part of an arm that was on the left. That's what I love about this place.. It was a GREAT suggestion.. Now I will look for that type of thing again. THanks Jim.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.