PixelChristi

By PixelChristi

100?!

100 blips.

Wow.

Well there have been some emergency blips in there and some backblips, but phase 1 of recreating the photographer I used to be has gone pretty much to plan.

The whole idea was to get myself "seeing" images again, thinking as a photographer first and foremost. 10 years of web, graphic and interface design had addled that part of my brain pretty much. I loved photography but the process had become rusty and slow and I didn't trust digital, even though I'd been using it for years on and off.

Even the emergency blips went to serve a purpose; that every day I should use that camera of mine and that I should get to the point where the mechanics of using my camera are, once again, second nature. So that they don't get in the way of the picture-making process. I can now hit the knobs and dials that I used to have to fumble for without even looking or even thinking about it now.

The other part of the plan was to reacquaint myself with putting my work in front of people again. It's a daunting prospect but invaluable when you're passionate about making images and it's a process I dearly missed from my degree way back in the 20th century.

Thankfully. you wonderful blippers have been welcoming and kind from the very beginning and I can't thank you enough for your part in this process. You are awesome.

Shocker of shockers, I've even made some images that I'm happy to look at weeks after I've made them. Images I'm genuinely pleased with.

Here are a few, for those of you who are only coming across my work as a result of the 100 notification. :)

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

So that's the phase 1 done - the first 100 blips. Phase 2... well I intend to kick it up a notch.

Here's to you blippers... you're all magnificent!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.