Fungi Business

After yesterdays's meeting, today was another fungi-based day. I typed up the draft programme and sent it off to group members for comments etc, then I finished off some checking of information cards for a British Mycological Society project  and sent those off. Then I had a couple of hours peering down the microscope trying to pin down a few of yesterday's finds. I managed to get one down to species, which wasn't too hard as it was only between two possibilities, but the little mushroom featured in yesterday's blip stubbornly guarded its secrets, as I could get any spores from it. I only managed to narrow it down to possibly 3 genera. 
Something that got me a little closer were these bottle-shaped features at the bottom edge of the gill, rejoicing in the name Cheilocystidia. No one knows what their function is, but they can help in identification, as they are sometimes absent, or can come in a range of weird and wonderful shapes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.