Leiflife

By Leiflife

Getting Closer

He tucks the amazing length of his bill beneath his folded wings. A protective gesture... Perhaps he feels safer: safe enough to allow my slow creep forward. His eye remains watchful as my own eye savors the up-close layers, textures, and variations of his feathered body. I feast upon his beauty, hoping that my love is the balancing element that will condone my presumption of intimacy.

On the next day I relinquished my harbor walk and my tryst with the pelicans. Summer was returning to resume our dance. This time our dancing would be a dance of winter into spring. With a public sharing in the spring. I should remind you that summer is the young woman I worked with in early fall and performed with in October. I posted photos of our performance on an October blip. 

Summer had spent November with a New York Company performing trapeze dancing. Then the holidays happened. And now along with the brave new year of 2017 comes my young companion in dance to resume our studies. Thankfully, she comes again to revive and inspire my elderly slowness into active participation and exploration of what might be. We both pray for the power of our connection and combined talents to bring further growth to our dancing lives.

Of course we will have to take into account the challenges my elderly body copes with on a daily basis. The sciatica is gently present, reminding me to take care. And my old shoulder injury, operated on in 2013, has resumed its painful presence in my right arm. I have doubtful moments even as my soul delights in promise. One of the lovely things about dancing with Summer is her complete embrace of the Leif that I am in this moment. Our dance is our dance is our dance. Yes!

Extras: A few Summer pictures from when we last worked together in my studio. I should say that we took turns holding the little RX100 as we danced. Play!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.