A MIMent In Time

By justmim

I have fallen into something of a habit when it comes to booking my train journeys to/from home. Inevitably I end up getting the first train of the day on my way down, and the second or third on my way back. This time  (partially influenced by wanting to get a ticket in the first class seat sale!) I decided to get an afternoon train. 

Getting the later train meant that the morning felt much less rushed. As well as having time to get packed without feeling frazzled, I was able to pay a visit to Lavinia, then Gwen - very dear family friends who happen to live on our street. Gwen, as ever, filled me up with that delicious milky coffee that she gets so right and a selection of sweet treats before my parents then tried to fill me up further for lunch!

Before long though it was time to say my farewells and make my way north and east once more. The timing of my train meant that I caught a glimpse of the sunset as the train sped along the tracks. When I change trains at Wolverhampton any sadness about leaving home usually makes way for looking forward to returning to Edinburgh. Of course, having an extra comfy, roomy seat and a steady stream of food/drink to my table after the change helped a good bit, too!

Then back to Edinburgh with just about enough time to unpack, breathe and adjust to the change in temperature!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.