Little Loch Broom

I'm up early, but the day starts slowly. I read a straw bale building book - for the UK - and pack my bag. First stop after coffee & farewells is Hugh & Jytte's. Hugh is there today as is David Bush and Martha. We talk windmills. Inevitably.

Then it's the 2 hour amble back to Badrallach and the car. It's lovely again - the loch mirror clear in places.

I head for Ullapool, stopping just after the Letters turning to meet up with Moz and family. It's probably over 20 years since we last met, and it's good to renew the acquaintance. They invite me to stay for food, but I'm determined to get to Ullapool before returning to Beauly.

Topher and Jan are out, but I discover through the miracle of mobile telephony that they'll be back shortly. I pass the time round the corner with Janice and Paul. When they do get back there's hardly enough time to enthuse about the albums of grand children before it's time to go.

Last stop for the day is back near Beauly at Guy & Judy's. I find it on the second attempt, which is just as well because there is no mobile signal to call for help. The pattern of the past few nights plays itself joyfully out again- food, wine, blether. Thankfully we're all knackered and pass out before the whisky makes its appearance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.