Édith Piaf

In early January several years ago, riding from Charles De Gaulle airport to our apartment in Paris, our van passed through the Place Édith-Piaf, and I briefly saw this sculpture.  It must have been at least 2011, since I immediately wanted to return for a blip (I'd joined Blipfoto in February 2010). Today I returned, and I confess I was taken aback by the statue--it did not jibe at all with my very hazy recollection of  a classical figure.  And the setting does not suit it--because of steps in front one has to look up and the background is terrible (I worked hard to attenuate it--the gray strip covers the brightest part of the bank). It's by Lisbeth Delisle (b. 1935), and was put up in 2003 (the 40th anniversary of Piaf's death). The Wiki article on Edith Piaf (1915-1963) is here; I couldn't find a good site on the square. (Next day edit: Here's a link--in French--but the photo is poor and doesn't show the statue.)


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.