Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Design

You may wonder why I have framed a road sign for Nottingham alongside the words choice and taste?

The answer is feminism.

The typography and design of British road signs were designed by a woman called Margaret Calvert.  She's a bit of a legend in design circles.

I am back at the newly reopened Design Museum for the third time. This is the first chance I have had to see the permanent collection, having to far only got as far as the bar and restaurant (highly recommended by the way).

As with the rest of the museum the permanent collection has flaws (numbered captions with no corresponding numbers on the objects for example) however it gave me a wave of nostalgia.

I studied graphic design and therefore seeing Olivetti posters from the '60's was a real treat. Also work by Peter Kennard, David Gentleman and Ken Garland (who was the external assessor of my degree).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.