A bit different

As you know, I'm an opera lover and there's nothing more magical than revelling in one of the grand performances of Verdi, Puccini or Mozart...or many other famous composers.

But I'm not all that adventurous so when I had the chance to go to the final dress rehearsal of "Written on Skin", I decided to be brave. It was conducted by the composer, George Benjamin.

It was first performed in 2012, then again in 2013, and it's back again now at Covent Garden. it's been highly acclaimed and it certainly made a huge impression on me. Powerful drama, stunning stage sets, complex meanings but a straightforward story. Sung in English and with English subtitles (actually very helpful).

The music was extremely different but also very varied.

I can't say I understood it - but I'm so pleased I went. I really must be more adventurous. My friend didn't like the music but even he was pleased we'd given it a chance.

My blip is just me pointing the camera out of the carriage window on the train home, as I was still lost in thought about the performance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.