Visitor # No 2

Silent appearance
Nonchalant opportunist
Satisfied moves on

This bird is a weka.  It is a flightless bird the size of a small chicken.  It silently walked up the driveway and had a drink from a pottery bowl, stepped onto the deck turned around and walked through the bowl again and drank some more.  It explored along the path a little and returned for one more drink before departing down the driveway again.  If I had known it would stay for so long I would have put on a bigger lens.  
This morning the retired forester took it into his head to cut and polish my car.  It is an older car and frankly I don't care anymore what it looks like.  I have to say it does look much better now.  Daughter and I were doing our part by working on the bonnet when we saw the weka.  I think it is exciting to have a little encounter with a wild/semi wild creature.    
We are off to Christchurch tomorrow to visit my sister and her family. The daughter also has to return to her grown up life in Christchurch.  It has been lovely having her here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.