Pensive

That's how I'm feeling tonight, after watching President Obama give his farewell address. Teary, too, despite the tears I shed during his speech... and I am not one who cries often.

I'll be 70 next month, and have voted in every presidential election since I turned 21. No president has touched both my heart and my head like Barak Obama has.

I don't agree 100% with all that he's done over the past eight years, but I do agree with most of it, and throughout his two terms in office I've admired his intelligence, thoughtfulness, dignity, and compassion. His speech tonight covered all those bases for me, and more. If you have time, click on the link above and watch the speech, or read the transcript. 

President Obama asked one final thing of us as our president:

I am asking you to believe. Not in my ability to bring about change -- but in yours.

I am asking you to hold fast to that faith written into our founding documents; that idea whispered by slaves and abolitionists; that spirit sung by immigrants and homesteaders and those who marched for justice; that creed reaffirmed by those who planted flags from foreign battlefields to the surface of the moon; a creed at the core of every American whose story is not yet written:

Yes, we can.

Blip 1721

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.