Rooftop Chess

The weather here has been dire, with grey skies and drizzle almost all day. The cricket league matches were rained off for both of the lads. I had thoughts of cycling over to Burnsall for the fell race, but I just couldn't raise any energy. I settled to split my time between work, blip and the 20-20 finals day from Cardiff.

Quite miraculously, in view of the general forecast for the whole country, the cricket from Cardiff continued through the day entirely uninterrupted. Yorkshire won the first semi in fine style to make the final, where they eventually lost to Hampshire in a thriller which went down to the final over. It was a great advertisement for the short version of the game. The quality of the cricket was superb throughout. In the end, I spent more time than intended in front of the television but it was good to be able to share the excitement with my sons. We don't get a chance to do that too often, with me working during the week and them playing their own cricket at the weekends.

So, I got so engrossed with the enthralling final that I almost forgot to blip! Can there be any better illustration of the excitement of cricket? I think we can probably call this an emergency blip then. I've not travelled more than a few hundred yards from home all day and this shot was taken from very close to home indeed. I know there should be mostly pawns on the last rank but these chimney pots have always reminded me of chess pieces. It's the best I can do today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.