That felt good!

I have made some promises to myself.
I am going to eat better.
I am going to give some time to myself to do things that I enjoy.
I am going to do things that need me to get over my nerves and that make me feel good, improve my confidence and make me smile.

I am eating better.  I have made changes.  I am eating the right amount of fruit and veg every day.  I am drinking plenty of non alcoholic, non caffeine based fluid.

I am doing creative things to give me time to focus away from work.

Tonight, I went to choir practice for the first time.  It's a staff and community choir at school.  Tonight there was only a small group of us, but even so, it was great.  I used to sing, back at school, and later on, I had good friends who were really musical and with whom I would occasionally sing (and sometimes perform).  But it has been a very long time.

So, despite a day that started at 8.05 and finished at 5.15, with barely a moment to catch a breath, I have left school at 6.40 feeling uplifted and very excited.  I have realised that I absolutely can still read music.  I really enjoyed it and can see that it is going to be something that really helps me to unwind and be a little bit more 'present'.

So, thanks M, for persisting and getting me involved.  You've made an old bird feel like I have achieved something today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.