The old Fairy Tree at Haresfield

I returned to Haresfield late this afternoon, but to the Severn Vale below the Beacon this time, to look for a special tree commented on by Oliver Rackham in his 'The History of the Countryside'. He saw it many years ago when he stayed in the nearby Court and he was told it was called the Fairy Oak, possibly by the family's children. There are local anecdotes about oak trees being planted to commemorate the passing of the coffin of the murdered King Edward 11 in 1327 en route from Berkeley Castle to Gloucester Cathedral for his burial. I spotted several huge old trunks in various places but I'm sure this one was the Fairy Oak. It is a very large, hollow tree, much reduced by age and pruning, with only about 10% of the cambian bark alive. 

I happened to meet one of the owners as she walked her dog on the land close to the tree and she gave me permission to walk on their land to take pictures. I have since learnt that several oak trees on this land were inspected in 1993 by the Research Office at Westonbirt Arboretum. Using the breast height measurement system an estimated latest planting date of 1370 is given. 

I have added some others n the 'Extras photos' to show its place in the landscape, and with a glimpse inside the hollow trunk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.