colouring in

Eve shared story time with Zeke and then worked out that having saved time (because I'd only read one story) she could do some bargaining for doodle time. I agreed to 10 minutes of doodling but I was soon engrossed and didn't really want to give up until we'd coloured in our etchings. It was most soothing (especially as I was processing guilt having failed to remind Mr B to attend the reception class drop in and inspect Eve's work - our hearts broke when we realised we'd let her down).

I'm thankful for a forgiving daughter. I did something similar when I missed her school dinner settling in session because I'm more than a little organisationally challenged! Resolving to get better in the full knowledge that this is going to happen again in many different ways because we're not super humans. I'd have laughed at other mums for stressing over piffling details not so long ago.... but now I'm as nutso as the rest.

Meanwhile Z has entered full on dramatic 2 year old phase and spends lots of his time dropping to his knees and weeping "nooooooo" or "dicdix" (bizarre and highly inappropriate pronunciation of biscuit) or a heartfelt "PEEEEEEASE, Mummy!" Having a second toddler is hysterical. I used to fully engage in Eve's drama (she kind of nailed the tantrum business) whereas it's hard to keep a straight face when Z is doing his thing. I appreciate that he really enters into the spirit of it all though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.