The World of Katcal

By Katcal

Day 4

Early start this morning....up at 2am for breakfast before continuing to the summit!

We spent the night in a dormitory type room and managed no sleep at all, eating breakfast at 2am is a strange feeling, especially when you are apprehensive about what you are about to do!

Today's picture shows us at the highest point we reached (3668.1m) this was after loads of steps and rope along sheer rock face and thin ledges along sheer drops....Scary!

I never imagined when preparing and training for this, that I would need to use my arms to pull my whole body weight up sheer rock face, extremely hard!

Given that the point at which we stopped was extremely hard to get to, it seemed the safest and sensible thing to do, yet the most frustrating thing to do, I am very disappointed that we didn't make it to the summit.

It took us an hour to get back to base camp and after another hours rest, we set off for the bottom of the mountian, we managed it in 3hr45 and had all but lost the use of our legs by the time we got to the bottom....jelly legs will always have a new meaning to me!

Although I'm gutted not to have reached the top and seen the sunrise and it was the hardest thing I have ever done, I am really glad that I chose to give it a go (so much so, I want to go back and try again) and hope I manage to raise a lot of money for a good cause Alzheimers

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.