YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Twins

A few months ago I posted a school photo of my dad and his brother.  This is another one.  My dad is a bit older on this one.  He is the last boy in the back row on the right hand side.  His younger brother is last boy on the left side in the back row.

Also in the picture are his two even younger twin brothers.  I'll leave you to see if you can spot them.  It should be easy as they are very alike.

My dad grew up in a small village in Northumberland.  Sadly, his father died when he was four years old and his brother was three.  His mam was six months pregnant at the time and she gave birth to another boy followed a few minutes later by another boy.  She did not know she was having twins.  She was left to bring up four children aged four and under.  I think she got by by having good neighbours and her husband's (my granda's) former employer letting them live in the cottage rent free until the last boy left school.  Also she was a strong character herself - I guess she had to be but I admire her for how she managed.

Three of the boys served in World War II. One of the four is still alive and is now 92 years old.  He still lives independently with the help of carers and everyday lights his coal fire himself.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.