Cygnus

By Cygnus

The Old Courthouse

After a bit of a setback this week, involving a rapid, irregular heartbeat (understandable, having to live with me) the Ards Man returned home from hospital last night.

We headed off for a brunch time treat today, tootling down the loughside road to Greyabbey. The tide was well in and it was bitterly cold, so many of the wading birds were huddled together on little grassy islets at the edge of Strangford Lough.

The shops in Greyabbey open intermittently and I couldn't quite remember which days, so we were pleased to see that our destination cafe, the Villager, was open, even though most of the other antique shops that populate the village were closed. I think now that the opening days are Wednesday, Friday and Saturday - how inconvenient!

Anyhoo, we had a lovely brunch and a very short meander at the Lough-end of the village. I liked the Georgian proportions of this antique shop, although we didn't venture in! I'd like to come down another time when the rest of the shops are open, as I'd spotted a very nice pair of grey pearl earrings just before Christmas...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.