Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Craig ballasted - almost

I finished as much ballasting as I could, leaving the track-side ballast in a few areas for after the base landscape and dirt is applied.  I also installed the wood crossings and the gravel road from "town" to the station.  And the station base - which gets covered in scale weathered lumber.  The rest of the road will have to wait until I get the landscaping along.

The real reason to do this was to get the track cleaned.  A promise to myself.  It has sat for too long without trains running so I rubbed off the glue residue that seems to get everywhere, and got the ballast out of the switches where it should not be.  Tested it thoroughly and all is good. I did find one end of one siding that did not have power - probably because I knocked off the lead when cleaning.  Bad solder joint I am sure.  

Next step is to get out my cleaning train consisting of a strong loco, cretix roller car, and the isopropyl alcohol cleaning car to run around many times to do the final clean of everything.  Then - I can run trains and begin to operate.  That is once I find another electrical gremlin - but I think I know what it is.

The blip shows Craig with at least the structures I have built for a previous layout positioned.  The white paper squares with names are structures yet to be built.  I think I will make mat board squares of the right size, and draw the roof outline with some shading. And a name.  At least they won't jump out like the white paper does.

One more project - they never end - I managed to throw out the piece of paper where I had recorded all of the turnout macros. Push one button and several turnouts align for a desired direction. Great feature, when you have a list. Whoops. But I can reconstruct the list - just wasted motion.  Serves me right I suppose for taking out the garbage today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.